Board of Directors

The National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE) is governed by a member-elected Board of Directors consisting of 5 Officers (President, First and Second Vice Presidents, Secretary, and Treasurer) and 9 Directors- at-large.

Each Board Member serves for a two-year term and may be reelected twice for a maximum of 6 years of service.

By-Laws, Policies & Committees

The board governs the organization according to its By-laws and Policies and organizes its work through both Standing and Ad-hoc committees.

  • Standing Committees and Subcommittees: Standing Committees and subcommittees: Current committees include Communication, Membership, Development, Conference, Finance and Program.
  • Ad-Hoc Committees are formed to handle special projects such as planning the annual board retreat or drafting the Core Principles document.

Orientation to the Board

New board members are required to attend an orientation the evening before the start of the annual Board planning retreat. New board members are expected to come to the retreat having read and studied organizational documents sent to them in advance for the purpose of orientation to Board procedures and to current issues before the Board.

National Advisory Council

The board consults throughout the year with NAMLE’s National Advisory Council consisting of professional colleagues, thinkers and leaders in the fields of education, public health, communications and media, and non-profit organizations.