The NAMLE 2011 Research Awards: Submission Deadline May 15

The National Association for Media Literacy Education now offers two research awards:  The Emerging Scholar Award and The Established Scholar Award. Read on for directions on how to submit for the 2011 award.

The Established Scholar and Emerging Scholar awards will be offered bienially for significant theoretical, empirical, ethnographic, critical, historical, or other scholarly research in any area of media literacy education.

The purpose of the awards is to encourage emerging and established researchers to strive for excellence; to receive constructive critiques from other researchers; and to increase the prestige, caliber, and recognition of laudable research in the field of media literacy education.

Finalist’s summary papers will be published in the Journal of Media Literacy Education.  As potential recipients of these awards, finalists are invited to present their research in a session at the bi-annual NAMLE conference.

For The Established Scholar and Emerging Scholar award, research should address or identify any research, policy, or practice issues in media literacy education.

Potential topics include but are not limited to:

  • media education theory, methods and curriculum
  • health promotions and media literacy
  • media arts and literacy
  • professional development, teacher education, pre-service teacher training in media literacy education
  • cultural and historical explorations of media literacy
  • media and digital technology literacies
  • global/political issues in media literacy education
  • 21st century learning models for media literacy education


Any NAMLE member may submit a complete manuscript (approximately 4,500-6,000 words) for consideration.  Any non-member may enter if sponsored by an active NAMLE member (please include a brief letter of sponsorship).  Finalists must become NAMLE members.

The Established Scholar: Must have an established record of presentation and publication in the field of media literacy.

The Emerging Scholar: Should be at the beginning of their career. This includes graduate students who are nearing completion of a thesis or dissertation.

Submission Deadline May 15, 2011

To Submit:

Send an electronic copy in MSW or RTF of the completed paper postmarked no later than May 15th, 2011 to Research Awards Chair, Amy Petersen Jensen

Finalists will be notified by July 1, 2011 and should plan to attend the NAMLE Conference July 22-25, 2011 in Philadelphia.  Awards will be presented at the NAMLE 2011 Conference where a presentation of the work will be made.  Finalists and Award winners are invited to submit a manuscript based on their research to the Journal of Media Literacy Education for publication.  All submissions will receive a double blind review and finalists’ papers will participate in a second round of review to determine a winner of each award.  Submissions for The Established Scholar Research Award and the Emerging Scholar Research Award must be received electronically no later than May 15, 2011.

Please contact Research Awards Chair, Amy Petersen Jensen with any questions at

Send all electronic submissions and request for further information to:
Amy Petersen Jensen
D-581 HFAC Brigham Young University
Provo, Utah. 84604

Leave a Reply