2010 NAMLE Board Election Results

The recent board elections of the National Association for Media Literacy Education (NAMLE) have brought a variety of new voices to the leadership of the organization.  Reflecting the growing reach of media literacy across multiple disciplines, the 15-member board now includes representatives from higher education, public broadcasting, independent media, after school programs, media production, organizational communications, research and public health.

The five new members elected to NAMLE’s board indicate the growing recognition of the importance of media literacy skills in today’s world as well as NAMLE’s central role in promoting those skills. In the recently held balloting, the following individuals were elected to serve two-year terms:

  • Andrea Ellis, Training & Outreach Specialist Arlington Independent Media, Arlington, Virginia
  • Mark Hannah, Director of Academic Communication, Parsons the New School for Design, New York City
  • Timothy Oldakowski, Online Program Coordinator/Graduate Student, University of Pittsburgh
  • Erin Reilly, Research Director/ New Media Literacies, University of Southern California
  • Annelise Wunderlich, National Community Engagement and Education Manager, Independent Television Service (ITVS), San Francisco, California

“We are thrilled to have such a strong group of leaders join the NAMLE board,” said president Sherri Hope Culver. “Their varied perspectives will be especially important as we embark on planning our next national conference in 2011.”

Culver was re-elected to serve another two-year term as president of the organization, and current board member Cindy Pulley was elected to the post of secretary.

The new directors will officially take their positions at the annual board of directors’ retreat in Philadelphia in early June. They will be joining continuing board members Lynda Bergsma (immediate past president), Brian Cohen (treasurer), Rhys Daunic, Vanessa Domine, Amy Jensen (first vice president), Kelly Mendoza, Paul Mihailidis, and Deborah Bressoud Parker (second vice president).

Leave a Reply