Board of Directors

NAMLE is governed by an all-volunteer Board of Directors that works through an active committee structure to conduct the business of the organization and plan its future. The Board meets every year for a three-day board retreat and monthly by conference call. New members are elected by existing board members according to guidelines in NAMLE’s bylaws.

NAMLE is indebted to the following women and men (and the institutions that may support their NAMLE Board service) for their time and energy, expertise and passionate commitment to advancing the cause of media literacy education in the United States.

Meet The Board

David_BrownDavid W. Brown, President

Managing Director, The Marketing Collaborative

Sherri Hope Culver, Past President

Temple University Philadelphia, PA

Erin Reilly, 1st Vice President

USC’s Annenberg School for Communications & Journalism Los Angeles, CA

Ethan Delavan, Treasurer

Director of Techology at The Bush School, a K-12 independent school in Seattle

Rhys Daunic, Secretary

Director of, Brooklyn, NY

Paul Mihailidis, PhD, Co-Editor of JMLE

Emerson College, Boston, MA

Kristi_AvramKristi Avram

Founding board member of Green Below 14 and the Southampton Arts Center

David_KleemanDavid Kleeman

Senior Vice President of Insights Programs and PlayVangelist for PlayCollective

KellyLeahyWhitneyKelly Leahy Whitney

Director of Curriculum and Content for PBS LearningMedia



Cynthia LiebermanCynthia Lieberman




Rob LippincottRob Lippincott

Senior Advisor, Education at i2 Capital Group



LynetteOwens_photoLynette Owens

Global Director of Internet Safety for Kids & Families, Trend Micro



Joanne-ParsontJoanne Parsont

Director of Education for the San Francisco Film Society



Tony Streit Tony Streit

Senior Project Director, Education Development Center, Inc.



DCVitoDC Vito

Executive Director of The Learning About Media Project (The LAMP), Brooklyn, NY